Blogs, Privacy and Peace of Mind

I’ve been asked a few times why there is no way of responding to my blog.  The answer is simple, in the forty some years I’ve been in business, I’ve had less than 200 clients; but writing for Fine Woodworking magazine, I have close to 1/4 million readers.  This blog is for the benefit of my clients, to inform, amuse and educate.  All my clients and friends have my address, phone number and e-mail address, and can reach me almost anytime.

After putting about 60 hours into my business each week, I don’t want to come home and be faced with countless comments and e-mails from a few woodworkers who have nothing better to do than to start arguments.  Those with serious questions can reach me through the FWW web site.  I answer every single one.

I’ve also been asked why I don’t have a Facebook page or Twitter account.  Here in Maine, birds twitter.  Serious conversation requires more than 144 characters.  As to Facebook, A) I don’t want to re-connect with folks I hardly knew in high school, and B) I don’t have the time to squander.  I enjoy the  privacy and inspiration I get from working alone, and being with friends and family.

Does that make me a Luddite?  I don’t think so.  To me all the electronic gadgets are but tools to use as needed.  I have a life to live and have better things to do than become a slave to a computer.  Like a fine tuned plane, I use it when required, but I don’t let it take over my life.                                                                                               C. H. Becksvoort © 2011

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.