December & January Shop News

December always fills up with last minute small projects.  Most years I don’t schedule anything for the last month of the year.  This time, the last November project ran into December.  It was a walnut chest.  Since I ordinarily inventory just cherry, I had to scramble to find decent walnut.  Most of it is steamed today, and the widths are nothing to brag about.  However, I remembered that I had three 12″ boards squirreled away from years ago.  Prime stock, with that nice dark purple-chocolate color.

The project was a lidded chest with two drawers.  Walnut is a bit of a challenge, since it’s hard to see pencil marks.  the chest was fully dovetailed,  maple interior, soft-close lid support and a beautiful quarter-sawn top.  The client wanted bun feet, which I’m not too fond off.  Nonetheless, I turned all four feet out of a real nice short piece of 16/4 stock that I managed to find.  The piece turned out rather nice, with black hardware.

January is always a slow time, a let down after the holidays.  I worked on two FWW articles and revived a long dormant coffee table design.  An updated boat-shaped, floating top with a granite inlay.  The table, of which I’m justly proud, is waiting for a a real photo shoot.     C. H. Becksvoort © 2011/2012

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.