January: Quality, Custom, Green

Visitors to my shop & showroom sometimes ask why my prices are so “dear.”  There are several responses, and the list keeps growing: 1) When you invest in my furniture, you are buying 2-6 weeks of my life.  2) You are availing yourself of five decades of experience in joinery, wood technology,  restoration, and design.  3) You are investing in a green product, made of sustainably harvested wood from Kane Hardwoods (in operation since 1858); a product that will outlast the next generation. 4) Buying quality once is always cheaper than buying cheap, and having to replace it 4 or 5 times.  Most of what you see at big box stores will be in the land-fill within 5 years. You are supporting the local economy, handmade in the U.S. A. 5) Each of my works are built by me, from raw stock, one at a time, to suit your specific requirements.  No two pieces I have ever made are exactly the same.  The hand of the maker is always in evidence.  Most folks think that “custom” means getting the body color, engine size and audio system you desire, not realizing that your “custom” vehicle is one of at least 3,000 just like it on the road.

From years of restoring furniture for the last Shaker community at Sabbathday Lake, ME, my motto has always been, “Not how cheap can I make it, rather, how good can I make it.” C. H. Becksvoort © 2012

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.