Looking Back…

Shaker tableI recently built yet another Shaker side-stand with a drawer.   Most of the ones I’ve made are patterned roughly on the Enfield, New Hampshire style stands.  I particularly like the turned legs with the swell tapers and the small ring at the transition between the square and round.  The tables are between 25 1/2″ and 27″ high, with tops 20″ to 30″ wide.  Perfect next to a bed, couch or arm chair.

Back in 2001, I was filmed making one for Martha Stewart’s television show.  An abridged version can still be seen here: http://www.marthastewart.com/926551/ch-becksvoort-handmade-shaker-furniture .   It still takes me about 20 hours for each table.  The video clip also shows me making “speed tenons” on the table saw.

Great fun. Enjoy this bit of history. C. H. Becksvoort © 2014

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.