Summer Vacation

Summer is brief in Maine.  The vacations of the self-employed are even briefer, fewer and farther between.  For the first time in 12 years, I took a week off and we rented a cabin on a lake.

IMG_0685Not a bad place to spend a week.  Of course I can’t spend seven days doing nothing,  so between reading and kayaking, I commuted to the shop a few times and did a variety of other chores.  I planned ahead and bought a 1″ x 6″ x 10′ piece of basswood, and printed out a 4″ alphabet, which I transferred onto the basswood.  It’s the first time I’ve ever worked with basswood, and what a treat it was,  carving through such soft and consistent grain. It only took me two days, off and on.

CBPhoto by M. A. Stevens-Becksvoort © 2014

_G8A0925

I coated the whole thing with urethane, painted the letters black, belt-sanded the face, and added a cherry frame.  It is now at home in a library, all 10′ of it.

C. H. Becksvoort © 2014

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.