February 2016

Happy Leap Year!

Last month I mentioned that we were having a “weenie winter.”  Well, I must have offended the weather gods, since shortly thereafter we had two good size snow storms and the temperature dropped to -15°F (-26°C).  But it didn’t last.  The next day it went to 47°F (8°C), and has been unseasonable ever since.  Our road has been muddy for several weeks, and it’s not even March yet.  This is the earliest I’ve ever seen the snowdrops come out.

IMG_1597I did cut a few forsythia branches, brought them inside and in less than a week, they bloomed.

IMG_1594The ongoing bath renovation has eaten into my shop time, but I’m finally at a stopping point.  The tile is done ( and I must say that the radiant floor heat mat is some nice), trim is done, fixtures, vanity, and linen closet are installed.  All that’s left is a bit of painting and of course the 5′ mirrored medicine cabinet over the sink.  Fortunately, that has to wait until the sliding glass track arrives.

So, I actually got a few days of shop time in.  First, a lamp, which was shipped off to Canada.  I discovered a local company that will custom make double thickness cardboard boxes.  Saved a lot of time.

Next, a thrilling job of 90 pew card racks for the First UU Church in Yarmouth, ME.  I had the backs routed our by a CNC shop, but had to drill the pen holes, rout the edges and hand sand the entire batch.  A whole day of sanding, and thank goodness for finger tape!  The racks  just came back from the painter, and look great. Installation will be almost as much fun as sanding.

IMG_1588I also made two crosses from the Shaker’s Elder Joseph Bracket maple, for a monastery.

For my workshop at the Sabbathday Lake Shaker village on August 20, I made a prototype of a single step stool.  It’s 33″ tall, dovetailed white pine.  I’m also doing a dovetail workshop June 25, and a drawer workshop on September 17. Details to follow.

IMG_1609For the two day workshop at Lie-Nielsen‘s on June 11 to 12, I made a Shaker Lap desk.  This is a simpler version, without the tiny drawer, but plans will be available for those wanting to add the drawer on their own time.

Lastly, I glued up panels for two cherry side cabinets with drawers.  They’ll take a while, since I’ll also be doing a few FWW articles at the same time.

C. H. Becksvoort © 2016

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.